John Anderson

Sample this concert
  1. 1Black Sheep03:34
  2. 2I'm Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (But I'm Gonna Be A Diamond Someday)04:22
  3. 3Goin' Down Hill04:00
  4. 4Long Black Veil03:53
  5. 5Chicken Truck03:16
  6. 6195903:33
  7. 7Band Introduction01:11
  8. 8Tokyo, Oklahoma02:37
  9. 9Down In Tennessee03:44
  10. 10Twelve Bar Blues03:14
  11. 11Milk Cow Blues05:00
  12. 12Your Lying Blue Eyes03:56
  13. 13She Sure Got Away With My Heart03:01
  14. 14I Wish I Could Write You A Song03:17
  15. 15When You Get On The Whiskey03:06
  16. 16Would You Catch A Falling Star03:05
  17. 17Haunted House03:33
  18. 18Til I Get Used To The Pain04:22
  19. 19Eye Of A Hurricane03:42
  20. 20Wild And Blue03:08
  21. 21I Just Came Home To Count The Memories04:31
  22. 22Swingin'03:14
Liner Notes

John Anderson - lead vocals, guitar; Mike Jordan - piano; Ax Lincoln - tack bass; Larry Emmons - bass; Jim Wolf - drums; Tom Morley - fiddle; Vern Pildren - lead guitar; Bucks Reed - pedal steel

Throughout most of the 1980s and '90s, country star John Anderson was one of the most consistent chart toppers on the scene. In fact, his 1983 single, "Swinging" (which closes this show) was the largest selling country single in the history of Warner Brothers Records up to that time. Although he never had the crossover appeal of country artists such as Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash or the more contemporary super stars such as Kenny Chesney and Keith Urban, John Anderson was continually a top concert draw and a radio staple.

Born in Florida, Anderson was first interested in rock music, but in high school he was introduced to country through the records of Merle Haggard. By 16, he was writing and playing his own country songs. In his early twenties he moved to Nashville, where he had a sister. He showed up one day on her doorstep unannounced and started doing odd jobs in the city to survive, while moonlighting as a performer at night. He landed a job as a roof repairer at the famed Grand Ole Opry before finally landing a deal with Warner Brothers Records in 1978.

His first album, released in 1980, has been universally praised as one of the pioneering releases of the New Traditionalist movement that also included Dwight Yoakam. From 1981 through 1986, he had a string of Top 10 country hits, including "Chicken Truck," "1959," "Black Sheep," "Wild and Blue" and "I'm Just An Old Chunk of Coal (But I'll Be A Diamond Someday)." All of these are included in this show, recorded in 1986 for the Silver Eagle Cross Country Radio Series.

Anderson was at the top of his game when he recorded this show, but by the following year, his ability to stay at the top of the charts started to wane. He continued to record and tour for the next five years, and in 1992, he wrote and recorded Seminole Wind, a successful comeback that placed him firmly back in the Top 10. He continues to write and record, and maintains a solid fan base throughout the USA.