The Rising Sons

Sample this concert
  1. 1Walkin' The Dog03:11
  2. 2Baby What You Want Me To Do03:05
  3. 3Song Introduction00:35
  4. 4Song Introduction01:08
  5. 5Walkin' Down The Line02:09
  6. 6Little Red Rooster05:32
  7. 7Fannie Mae03:02
  8. 8Hambone / Band Introductions02:23
Liner Notes

Ry Cooder - vocals, lead guitar; Taj Mahal - vocals, harmonica, guitar, piano, tambourine; Jesse Lee Kincaid - vocals, rhythm guitar; Gary Marker - bass; Ed Cassidy - drums

The Ash Grove will long be remembered as the West Coast epicenter of the traditional folk and blues revival of the late 1950s and early 1960s. As such, the Los Angeles venue was a critical component, not only in the careers of many important folk and blues artists, but as an educational environment to many younger musicians and songwriters, providing them with first hand exposure to the best of the best in an intimate setting. Also a focal point for progressive thought, the Ash Grove would have an equally strong impact on the cultural and political perspective of these young emerging artists, laying the groundwork for what would become the rock music revolution of the 1960s. The Ash Grove's high musical standards and owner Ed Pearl's vision of facilitating interaction between young and old musicians made the venue a hotbed of creativity. Many important careers were launched on the Ash Grove stage and the recording presented here is one of the many fine examples.

The Rising Sons literally formed within the walls of The Ash Grove. All five of the musicians were young regulars, who had spent countless hours studying the music and performances of the older folk and blues artists. Ry Cooder had been frequenting the Ash Grove for several years, partnering up with the likes of Jackie DeShannon and Pamela Polland as a frequent opening act at the venue. Taj Mahal had journeyed from Massachusetts with his friend Jesse Lee Kincaid a few years prior and both had also become Ash Grove regulars. Needing a rhythm section, Cooder and Mahal recruited two additional regulars, bassist Gary Marker and the significantly older jazz drummer, Ed Cassidy, who had worked with Cannonball Adderly, Thelonious Monk and Roland Kirk, among others. (With his stepson, Randy California, Cassidy would later form the band Spirit.) Then going by the stage name, Cass StrangeDrums, Cassidy would leave the group following a hand injury, being replaced by future drummer for The Byrds, Kevin Kelly. By the time the group recorded their 1966 sessions for Columbia Records, Kelly had already replaced Cassidy, so the original Rising Sons were thought to have never been recorded - that is, until now!

Although the group's repertoire primarily consisted of cover material by the older artists they admired, their eclectic mix of blues, folk and anything else that tickled their collective fancy clearly anticipated the development of psychedelic rock music. Soon after, groups like the Grateful Dead and Quicksilver Messenger Service, who were also young folk, blues and traditional music fans, would mine similar territory creating the so-called "San Francisco Sound" that would fuel dance halls like The Fillmore Auditorium and The Avalon Ballroom.

To say The Rising Sons were ahead of their time is a major understatement, as few knew what to make of the band in 1965. Taj Mahal and Ry Cooder were young scholars of traditional blues and folk music, but they were already embracing electric guitars. This recording was made prior to Bob Dylan's electric debut at Newport and The Rising Sons were heading in a similar direction. This, along with the fact that the Sons were an integrated group, pretty much sealed their fate. Racial prejudice was undoubtedly a factor that prevented the group from becoming more successful. Fearing trouble, few booking agents or club owners would hire bands of mixed ethnicity in the mid-1960s. So, The Rising Sons never strayed far from home and became what could be considered the "house band" at The Ash Grove.

This very primitive, yet remarkable, live recording now stands as one of the earliest examples of the original lineup in action. It should be noted that The Ash Grove was not set up to facilitate the recording of electric music. Drums and amplified guitars were easily heard in the club without the need for sound reinforcement. As such, this recording is far from perfectly balanced. Despite this, everyone can be heard on the recording as the drums and electric instruments are captured by the vocal microphones.

This set, the first of two performances that evening, kicks off with a raucous reading of Rufus Thomas' "Walking The Dog." Through much of this set, Taj Mahal clearly comes across as the charismatic front man, exuding charm and relaxed ease with the audience. They follow with a take on Jimmy Reed's classic "Baby, What You Want Me To Do," with Cooder playing tasteful lead and Mahal blowing mouth harp to good effect. Things get more interesting on the next number, an engaging take on "High Heeled Sneakers." If one pays attention during the instrumental break here, an embryonic form of psychedelic rock music can be heard and Cooder's jagged lead lines anticipate the guitar stylings he would later pursue with Captain Beefheart's Magic Band.

Next up is the most contemporary song of the set as The Sons perform a Bob Dylan obscurity, "Walkin' Down The Line," followed by Willie Dixon's "Little Red Rooster," featuring early examples of Ry Cooder's trademark slide work and a loose but infectious vocal from Taj Mahal. At this point, Mahal switches to piano and the Sons romp their way through Sonny Boy Williamson's "Fannie Mae" before winding things to a close with "Hambone," which is essentially an outro vamp on the classic Bo Diddley beat. One by one, each of the band members is introduced and exits the stage until only Cassidy remains, who then exits himself to conclude the set.

In terms of young, up and coming musicians that got their start on the Ash Grove stage, this recording is certainly one of the most astonishing finds.

Written by Alan Bershaw