The Rascals

Sample this concert
  1. 1Right On05:37
  2. 2Love Me03:56
  3. 3Groovin'05:02
  4. 4Love Letter05:21
  5. 5Sky Trane07:38
  6. 6Little Dove06:00
  7. 7Getting Nearer08:49
  8. 8Superstar05:36
  9. 9Happy Song03:59
  10. 10People Got To Be Free09:48
  11. 11Mustang Sally02:00
Liner Notes

Felix Cavaliere - keyboards, lead vocals; Dino Danelli - drums; Bobby Matos - congas; Robert "Pops" Popwell - bass; Buzzy Feiten - guitar; Danny Weiss - guitar; Annie Sutton - backing vocals; Molly Holt - backing vocals

The Rascals were essentially just a backing band for vocalist/keyboardist Felix Cavaliere by the time this recording was made at the Fillmore West in May 1971. Although original drummer Dino Danelli remained, both guitarist Gene Cornish and vocalist Eddie Bragati were gone by the time A Peaceful World was cut, the album this tour was promoting.

After making some of the best American blue-eyed soul records of the 1960s, including "I Ain't Gonna Eat Out My Heart Anymore," "Good Lovin'," "It's A Beautiful Morning," "People Gotta Be Free" and "Groovin'," Cavaliere, by the turn of the decade, was determined to take the band in a more jazz and gospel inspired direction.

The group ended its long and fruitful association with Atlantic Records and producer Arif Mardin to work with Clive Davis and Columbia Records, where Cavaliere reshaped the lineup and set the band on its new musical course. Sadly, the fans failed to follow, as none of the material recorded after leaving Atlantic ever saw action in the charts.

Still, this is an important recording, offering a rare live look at this last version of The Rascals. Two female vocalists had been added, in addition to bassist Robert Popwell, who provides a thick, funky bottom end to these recordings. Most of the material is from the group's two, simultaneously released 1971 albums. Atlantic Records produced the original four-piece lineup's final recording, Search and Nearness, at the same time that Columbia was launching A Peaceful World.

There are a couple of classic Rascals tunes included in the set, as well: a retooled jazz arrangement of "Groovin'" and a gospel flavored version of "People Got To Be Free."