The Oak Ridge Boys

Sample this concert
  1. 1One In A Million05:12
  2. 2Sail Away / Cryin' Again / Come On In05:05
  3. 3Dig A Little Deeper In The Well02:27
  4. 4Dream On03:30
  5. 5I Wish You Could Have Turned My Head02:30
  6. 6Heart On The Line (Operator, Operator)04:31
  7. 7Fancy Free03:28
  8. 8Until You03:00
  9. 9Dancing The Night Away05:09
  10. 10You're The One04:53
  11. 11Leaving Louisiana In The Broad Daylight03:00
  12. 12Would They Love Him Down In Shreveport?02:24
  13. 13Love Song04:04
  14. 14Amity03:56
  15. 15Thank God For Kids03:33
  16. 16You Made It Beautiful03:52
  17. 17American Made02:28
  18. 18American Made Reprise01:30
  19. 19Elvira03:20
  20. 20Bobbie Sue04:56
Liner Notes

Duane Allen - baritone vocals; Joe Bonsall - tenor vocals; William Lee Golden - baritone vocals; Richard Sterban - bass vocals; Skip Mitchell - lead guitar; Steve Sanders - rhythm guitar, vocals; Mark O'Hunt - guitar; Fred Satterfield - drums; Don Greeland - bass; Dewey Duro - sax, harmonica; Ron Fairchild - keyboards

The Oak Ridge Boys, like their contemporary Lee Greenwood, had become the epitome of wholesome country music when this show was recorded for the Silver Eagle Cross Country Radio Show. When this band plays their hit, "American Made," they mean it. The play on patriotism that many country singers weighed in on after 911, The Oak Ridge Boys never stopped singing about. As Midwestern icons and among the biggest country acts of the '70s and '80s, the Oaks have become the American musical equivalent of baseball and apple pie.

All the great four-part harmonies are here, as well as most of their hit songs, among them "Dig A Little Deeper In The Well," "You're The One," "Ozark Mountain Jubilee," "Bobbie Sue," and of course, "Elvira," which they close the show with. At times the band appears to lay on the Vegas schmaltz a little heavy, but that is understandable when one realizes they have an audience that ranges from age 9 to 90.

The group actually dates back to 1942 in Knoxville, Tennessee, where they began as a gospel group led by Wally Fowler called the Oak Ridge Quartet. Fowler kept the group going amid several personnel changes as one of the most popular country-gospel acts in the south through 1956, when he retired. In 1956, he sold the name to then-group member, Smitty Gatlin, who changed the moniker to The Oak Ridge Boys in 1961. When Gatlin became a minister in 1964 he handed over the reigns to the other members, which at that point included William Lee Golden and Duane Allen. Golden and Allen gradually rebuilt the group to its current line up, which has been together since the early 1970s.