The New Riders of the Purple Sage

Sample this concert
  1. 1Bill Graham Introduction00:21
  2. 2Workin' Man Blues03:49
  3. 3Superman04:05
  4. 4I Don't Know You04:50
  5. 5Down In The Boondocks04:18
  6. 6Dirty Business10:06
  7. 7Glendale Train05:34
  8. 8Portland Woman05:38
  9. 9Henry04:32
  10. 10Sailin'04:30
  11. 11Last Lonely Eagle07:16
  12. 12Louisiana Lady04:15
  13. 13The Weight08:04
Liner Notes

John Dawson - guitar, vocals; David Nelson - lead guitar, vocals; Jerry Garcia - pedal steel guitar; Dave Torbert - bass, vocals; Spencer Dryden - drums

This is an inspired set by NRPS, featuring Jerry Garcia on pedal steel guitar toward the tail end of his tenure with the group. The classic songs from the band's debut LP are well represented as are sneak previews of two songs destined for their second and third albums, "Superman" and "Sailin'," and it's a treat hearing both with Garcia's flavorful pedal steel. We're also treated to cover versions of Merle Haggard's "Workingman's Blues," the Billie Joe Royal hit "Down In The Boondocks," The Rolling Stones' "Honky Tonk Woman" and the Band's "The Weight," which they serve up as an encore.

The most interesting track is the ten minute version of "Dirty Business" which allows the band to uncharacteristically stretch out. Jerry Garcia adds fuzz and wah-wah effects to his pedal steel, giving the jam an otherworldly effect; he and David Nelson get a chance to explore some deep space within the jam sequence on this one. This set also features the version of "Henry" immortalized on the Fillmore: The Last Days release.

This is a prime example of the original NRPS lineup playing before a hometown crowd. The mix on their set is excellent and does not contain an overabundance of room ambiance, making it one of the more enjoyable listens of this legendary closing week run.