The New Riders of the Purple Sage

Sample this concert
  1. 1Six Days On The Road03:19
  2. 2Fair Chance To Know04:11
  3. 3The Weight07:49
  4. 4Runnin' Back To You05:35
  5. 5I Don't Know You04:12
  6. 6Sailin'04:20
  7. 7Henry04:24
  8. 8Dirty Business11:07
  9. 9Superman05:37
  10. 10Lodi04:17
  11. 11Glendale Train05:01
  12. 12Portland Woman07:32
  13. 13Last Lonely Eagle07:10
  14. 14Louisiana Lady04:47
  15. 15Honky Tonk Woman07:17
Liner Notes

John Dawson - guitar, vocals; David Nelson - lead guitar, vocals; Jerry Garcia - pedal steel guitar; Dave Torbert - bass, vocals; Spencer Dryden - drums

This concert would conclude the Dead and New Riders of the Purple Sage's final, five-night run of concerts at the Fillmore East. This first set of the evening features an inspired set by New Riders of the Purple Sage featuring Jerry Garcia on pedal steel guitar. Tight arrangements of the classic songs from their debut LP had been prominent throughout this run, and this final night was no different.

Also of note are the cover of John Forgerty's "Lodi" and, although ragged, the loose arrangements of the Band's "The Weight" and the Stones' classic "Honky Tonk Women." It's particularly interesting to hear Garcia adding his flavor to these classic songs outside the studio. Other highlights include an extended exploration by Garcia and Nelson on "Dirty Business" and near-perfect renditions of NRPS favorites, "Henry," "Louisiana Lady" and "Portland Woman."