The Marshall Tucker Band

Sample this concert
  1. 1Hillbilly Band (Incomplete)03:10
  2. 2Another Cruel Love04:08
  3. 3Take The Highway08:11
  4. 4Can't You See06:39
  5. 5A New Life07:10
  6. 6Ramblin'05:48
  7. 7Everyday (I Have The Blues)12:59
  8. 824 Hours At A Time09:11
Liner Notes

Doug Gray - vocals; Toy Caldwell - guitar, vocals; Tommy Caldwell - bass, vocals; George McCorkle - guitar; Jerry Eubanks - reeds; Paul Riddle - drums

This is a great example of The Marshall Tucker Band live, here debuting songs from their second album, A New Life, while expanding upon material from their classic self-titled first LP. After almost a year of touring huge venues as openers for the Allman Brothers, the group exudes a new confidence level. Their soulful gospel singing, bluesy guitar riffs and jazzy reed sounds continue to develop within their unique blend of country and rock.

As with the band's earlier Winterland performance, this recording starts with the first song, "Hillbilly Band," already in progress. The tune - the first the group ever wrote - serves as a more than appropriate opener, showcasing all the best attributes of the group right off the bat. By the time they begin "Take The Highway," the audience is hooked. Toy Caldwell's searing guitar, Gray's soulful vocals and Eubank's flute riffs combine to create a countrified blend unlike any other at the time.

"Can't You See," the tune that effectively became the band's theme song, is up next, beginning subtly with Eubanks' flute and gradually building momentum. "A New Life," another standout track from their second album is up next, followed by a frenetic version of "Ramblin'."

They close the set with B.B. King's classic, "Everyday I Have The Blues" featuring superb jamming that prompted the audience to demand more. The band obliges with an enthusiastic "24 Hours At A Time," which would soon become a staple and one of the centerpieces of their live repertoire.

This is an excellent set by the band at the height of its creative powers.