The Knack

Sample this concert
  1. 1Your Number Or Your Name (incomplete)02:01
  2. 2Oh Tara03:03
  3. 3The Hard Way02:24
  4. 4Intro00:18
  5. 5End Of The Game02:30
  6. 6Lucinda04:01
  7. 7It's You02:16
  8. 8Intro00:17
  9. 9Heartbeat02:19
  10. 10Intro00:22
  11. 11Good Girls Don't03:25
  12. 12Intro00:27
  13. 13Don't Look Back02:26
  14. 14Hold On Tight And Don't Let Go01:40
  15. 15Intro00:18
  16. 16Frustrated03:28
  17. 17C'mon Everybody02:09
  18. 18She's So Selfish04:26
  19. 19My Sharona04:47
  20. 20Rave Up (incomplete)01:29
  21. 21Not Fade Away03:43
  22. 22Encore Applause / Stage Banter (reciting Dylan's "The Times They Are A-Changin'")00:59
  23. 23Intro01:08
  24. 24A Hard Days Night02:27
Liner Notes

Doug Fieger - rhythm guitar, lead vocals; Berton Averre - lead guitar; Prescott Niles - bass; Bruce Gary - drums

With one of the fastest selling debut albums of all time, The Knack burst onto the scene in 1979 with their own brand of straightforward power pop and a lead-off single ("My Sharona") that would top the charts and become Billboard's Top Pop Single of 1979. A true overnight sensation that would be doomed by overhype and the inevitable critical backlash that followed, The Knack were nonetheless an exciting live band with both musical chops and a sense of humor.

An abundance of proof can be found in the recording presented here, a near complete, correctly sequenced and unedited board tape of The Knack's legendary performance at Carnegie Hall. In addition to many of the songs featured on Get The Knack performed live before an enthusiastic New York City audience, this performance also acknowledges the band's roots with two Buddy Holly covers ("Heartbeat" and "Not Fade Away"), a classic Eddie Cochran cover ("C'mon Everybody") and embracing their harshest critics, a final humorous encore of "A Hard Days Night." Also included are songs that have never been issued on any of the numerous released configurations of this concert, including "Lucinda" and a surprising cover of Bruce Springsteen's "Don't Look Back."