The Guess Who

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction01:57
  2. 2Shakin' All Over04:35
  3. 3Bus Rider02:48
  4. 4Song Intro00:11
  5. 5Rain Dance02:57
  6. 6Runnin Back To Saskatoon05:13
  7. 7Song Intro00:32
  8. 8Sour Suite04:21
  9. 9Albert Flasher02:40
  10. 10Song Intro00:29
  11. 11You Ain't Seen Nothin' Yet02:57
  12. 12Song Intro00:12
  13. 13Creepin' Peepin Baby Blues03:35
  14. 14Song Intro00:49
  15. 15Flying On The Ground Is Wrong03:04
  16. 16Heartbroken Bopper04:52
Liner Notes

Burton Cummings - vocals, keyboards; Randy Bachman - vocals, guitar; Jim Kale - bass; Garry Peterson - drums

In 1983, fans of Canada's great musical export, The Guess Who, finally had reason to celebrate. After nearly 13 years, Burton Cummings and Randy Bachman took a breather from their respective solo careers and finally reunited forces with Jim Kale and Gary Peterson, bringing the quartet behind the band's classic "American Woman" album back together again. A series of Canadian gigs were scheduled, with the largest taking place during Molson's Summer Nights concert series presented at Toronto's CNE Bandshell. Highlights from this performance were aired on Canadian TV and FM radio and issued as a live album and home VHS video release, both now long out of print.

Presented here is the first 40 minutes of that very performance, unedited and exactly as it went down that night. Burton Cummings has gone on record stating that this configuration of the band never played better than they did on this 1983 tour and this recording makes a strong case in support of that. Despite this early portion of the show not containing the band's biggest hits of the 1960s, it does contain some choice material from the early 1970s era and includes several performances never previously issued or broadcast before! Most notable is a engaging arrangement of fellow-Canadian Neil Young's "Flying On The Ground Is Wrong," which in addition to being a Buffalo Springfield classic, was also recorded by the 1967 configuration of The Guess Who.