The Fabulous Thunderbirds

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction00:32
  2. 2Hot Number04:14
  3. 3Interlude01:27
  4. 4Why Get Up04:16
  5. 5Interlude00:46
  6. 6Pretty Baby05:03
  7. 7Fine, Fine, Fine03:07
  8. 8Wrap It Up03:23
  9. 9Full Time Lover10:01
  10. 10Amnesia04:20
  11. 11Two Time My Lovin'04:26
  12. 12My Babe05:09
  13. 13She's Tough06:30
  14. 14Interlude00:42
  15. 15Stand Back03:42
  16. 16Streets Of Gold04:22
  17. 17Wasted Tears04:38
  18. 18Sofa Circuit04:10
  19. 19Look At That, Look At That05:11
  20. 20Interlude00:35
  21. 21Tuff Enuff04:22
  22. 22Interlude / Bonnie Raitt Introduction01:59
  23. 23Man Size Job04:47
  24. 24Interlude00:40
  25. 25I Believe I'm In Love04:45
  26. 26Interlude02:24
  27. 27I Hear You Knockin'04:53
  28. 28Stagger Lee04:59
  29. 29Interlude01:53
  30. 30The Crawl06:21
Liner Notes

Fran Cristina - drums; Preston Hubbard - bass; Jimmie Vaughan - guitar, vocals; Kim Wilson - vocals, harmonica; Chuck Leavell - keyboards; Duke Robillard - guitar; Guest: Bonnie Raitt; Guest: Dave Edmunds; Guest: Nick Lowe; Guest: Robert Cray

This exceptionally lengthy show features not only The Fabulous Thunderbirds in their musical prime, but showcases a number of amazing covers and guests. Recorded during a special concert featuring Robert Cray as the opening act, this legendary radio concert features a wealth of great guest stars including Cray, former Rockpile members Dave Edmunds and Nick Lowe, and current queen of contemporary blues, Bonnie Raitt.

Originally formed in 1974 by Jimmie Vaughan and Kim Wilson, the group quickly established itself as one of the premiere bands on the U.S. blues bar circuit. They recorded initially for Takoma records and eventually Chrysalis, and were one of the first bands to break out of the Texas blues circuit and cross over to a more mainstream audience. Much of that success came in 1986, when, four years after being dropped by Chrysalis, they convinced Epic Records to sign them and bring in producer Dave Edmunds, a star in his own right. Edmunds had successfully transformed the Stray Cats into MTV superstars just years earlier.

The result was Tuff Enuff, the hit album and single that provided other follow up hits such as their version of Sam & Dave's "Wrap It Up." This recording was made while the band was touring behind the follow-up to Tuff Enuff, which was dubbed Hot Number. Most of the songs played by the T-Birds came from those two albums, although there are some choice covers.

After they play "Tuff Enuff," the show continues with an all star jam session that begins with a smoking-hot version of "Man Size Job" sung by Bonnie Raitt ( who also contributes, "I Believe In Love"). Next up, Nick Lowe and Dave Edmunds take the stage, and forthwith deliver powerful versions of "I Hear You Knockin'" and the Lloyd Price classic, "Stagger Lee." The show ends with Robert Cray joining them onstage for a rock/blues version of "The Crawl."