The Doobie Brothers

Sample this concert
  1. 1Jesus Is Just Alright04:34
  2. 2Long Train Runnin'07:32
  3. 3It Keeps You Runnin'05:26
  4. 4Take Me In Your Arms (Rock Me)04:07
  5. 5Echoes Of Love03:21
  6. 6Neal's Fandango03:38
  7. 7What A Fool Believes / Disciple09:53
  8. 8Don't Stop To Watch The Wheels Go 'Round03:47
  9. 9Steamer Lane Breakdown04:00
  10. 10China Grove03:32
Liner Notes

Jeff "Skunk" Baxter - guitar; John Hartman - drums; Keith Knudsen - drums, vocals; Bobby LaKind - congas, vocals; Michael McDonald - keyboards, synthesizers, vocals; Tiran Porter - bass, vocals; Patrick Simmons - guitar, vocal

The Doobies open this Oakland Coliseum show with a killer version of the old Byrds' classic, "Jesus Is Just Alright With Me," which got the audience up and focused on the band. "Echoes Of Love" is a beautiful ballad, but when the band follows it with the mega hit, "What A Fool Believes" which mergers further into "Disciple," the crowd is up and moving.

More cool tracks become part of this recording, which was done for the King Biscuit Flower Hour radio concert series, with "Don't Stop To Watch The Wheels Go 'Round," featuring Keith Knudsen, as well as "Steamer Lane Breakdown." The group wraps up this short set with a killer take on "China Grove" an early hit for the band and one that remains a constant crowd pleaser.

Formed in the Bay Area in 1969, the original trio of guitarist Patrick Simmons, drummer John Hartman, and guitarist Tom Johnston were an early Bay Area signing to Warner Brothers Records, although their success would appear to elude them until the group's second LP, Toulouse Street, hit in 1972, with the single " Listen To The Music." From there the band grew in popularity with a number of hit singles, including "Rolling Down The Highway" and "Jesus Is Just Alright With Me" (a re-make of a 1967 Byrds song). 1973's Captain & Me would take them farther into the Top 10, with a number of new hits including "Long Train Running," "Without You," and "China Grove." The group would see their biggest success with the hit "Black Water," a Delta gospel-styled chant that included the perfect audience participation sing-along.

When personal and health problems started to plague Johnston, the band brought in a backup keyboardist and vocalist, ex-Steely Dan member, Michael McDonald. By 1976 Johnston was gone from the group and McDonald became their most prolific song writer. Taking the group in a more gospel and roots rock direction, McDonald eventually wrote and sang on hits including the 1978 and 1979 Grammy award winning Song of The Year, "What A Fool Believes," and "Minute By Minute."