The Beach Boys

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction00:41
  2. 2California Girls02:20
  3. 3Sloop John B03:04
  4. 4Darlin'02:36
  5. 5Interlude00:48
  6. 6Shortenin' Bread02:18
  7. 7Do It Again02:50
  8. 8Little Deuce Coupe01:51
  9. 9Interlude00:39
  10. 10Roller Skating Child01:59
  11. 11Interlude00:43
  12. 12Peggy Sue02:08
  13. 13Interlude00:22
  14. 14In My Room02:33
  15. 15God Only Knows02:54
  16. 16You Are So Beautiful02:32
  17. 17Interlude00:45
  18. 18Good Vibrations05:15
  19. 19Barbara Ann02:51
  20. 20Fun, Fun, Fun03:48
  21. 21God Only Knows (Alt. Mix)02:58
Liner Notes

Mike Love - lead vocals; Brian Wilson - keyboards, bass, vocals; Carl Wilson - lead guitar, vocals; Dennis Wilson - drums, vocals; Al Jardine - rhythm guitar, vocals; Bruce Johnston - keyboards, bass, vocals; Bobby Figueroa - drums; Mike Meros - organ, synth

Recorded on the tour that returned Beach Boys legend Brian Wilson to the performing stage, the group's 1979 tour was the last to feature all five of the original members: Brian, Dennis and Carl Wilson, Mike Love and Al Jardine. It also combined the talents of Brian Wilson and Bruce Johnston, who was brought in to replace Brian on the road when he suffered a nervous breakdown in 1964.

Brian Wilson was still recovering with his well publicized mental health issues by way of Dr. Eugene Landry, the controversial psychiatrist hired to help. Landry had allowed Wilson to re-join his brothers and other Beach Boy members on this tour, although his involvement was minimal, singing only a couple of songs in the entire set.

Still, this recording is important for any fan of The Beach Boys because it does show the magic the five core members still possessed on the stage. All the big "surf-era" hits are here: "California Girls," "Sloop John B," "Barabara Ann," "Fun Fun Fun," "In My Room" and "Little Deuce Coupe" which clocks in at a swift 1:51. The best material from the Pet Sounds-era is also represented with "Good Vibrations," "Darlin'," "Do It Again," and the brilliant, "God Only Knows." The also perform some unexpected covers including Buddy Holly's "Peggy Sue," Billy Preston's "You Are So Beautiful," (also a hit for Joe Cocker) and the southern children's rhyme, "Shortenin' Bread."

Recorded at Long Island's Nassau Coliseum, the concert is a good example of where The Beach Boys were artistically just before becoming more of a nostalgia act in the 1980s.