The Bangles

Sample this concert
  1. 1Let It Go02:21
  2. 2Restless02:48
  3. 3September Gurls02:53
  4. 4If She Knew What She Wants03:45
  5. 5Live02:39
  6. 6Angels Don't Fall In Love02:59
  7. 7Manic Monday03:43
  8. 8Walk Like An Egyptian03:20
Liner Notes

Susanna Hoffs - vocals, rhythm guitar; Vicki Peterson - vocals, lead guitar; Michael Steele - vocals, bass; Debbi Peterson - vocals, drums; Walker Hart - keyboards

Combining striking vocal harmonies and their love for classic power pop, The Bangles would begin capturing attention with their 1984 debut album All Over The Place. Over the course of the next two years, The Bangles would tour relentlessly, building a following and polishing their sound. Their hard work would result in the mega-popular second album, Different Light, in 1986, which contained the global number one hit "Walk Like an Egyptian" and the Prince-penned "Manic Monday".

One of the most high profile gigs of The Bangles career occurred on the tour for that sophomore album, when MTV taped an entire concert at Pittsburgh's Syria Mosque on October 29, 1986 and broadcast the performance into millions of homes that December. Capturing the group at a peak moment, this concert has since become the most ubiquitous of Bangles bootleg recordings and is essentially the closest thing to a professionally recorded live album of the band in their prime.

Presented here is the never-before-heard afternoon soundcheck from that very concert. Eavesdrop on The Bangles as they prepare for this monumental night and run through a good portion of their live set before an empty venue. The group practices both classic originals and a wide variety of choice covers, including lovely interpretations of Big Star's "September Gurls" and Jules Sheer's "If She Knew What She Wants". This rare soundcheck recording wraps up in the same way the concert did that evening, with the two songs that have since come to define the group, "Manic Monday" and "Walk Like An Egyptian".