The Animals

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction01:48
  2. 2It's Too Late03:50
  3. 3Melt Down03:20
  4. 4Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood05:48
  5. 5The Night03:50
  6. 6My Favourite Enemy04:32
  7. 7Trying To Get To You06:20
  8. 8When I Was Young04:58
  9. 9Loose Change03:40
  10. 10Elmo James07:41
  11. 11I'm Crying03:52
  12. 12Bring It On Home To Me05:32
  13. 13O Lucky Man02:37
  14. 14San Francisco Nights04:12
  15. 15Heart Attack03:45
  16. 16House Of The Rising Sun05:34
  17. 17Hard Times04:38
  18. 18It's My Life / Don't Bring Me Down08:14
  19. 19Young Girls04:23
  20. 20Boom Boom05:30
  21. 21We Gotta Get Outta This Place09:12
Liner Notes

Eric Burdon - vocals; Chas Chandler - bass, vocals; Hilton Valentine - guitar, vocals; John Steel - drums; Alan Price - keyboards, vocals

This concert was recorded during what was actually the second reunion of the original Animals lineup. The band had made one reunion LP in 1977 on United Artists records, called Before We Were So Rudely Interrupted, but the release had failed to ignite any renewed interest in the legendary band and they didn't tour behind it. This recording, made during the Ark reunion tour spearheaded by Police-manager Miles Copeland and his IRS label, was designed to bring the classic British Invasion band back to its 1965 glory. All of the original gang is back, including bassist Chas Chandler, who discovered and went on to manage both Jimi Hendrix and Slade after leaving the Animals in 1966. Keyboardist Alan Price also participated, even though he had gone on to a more lucrative career scoring film soundtracks.

Of course, lead singer Eric Burdon, who continued to perform with various lineups called the Animals after the original version had disintegrated, sounds nearly as good as he did 20 years prior. His dry wit and sarcastic sense of humor remain apparent in these recordings, especially when conversing with the audience. Originally broadcast on WRIF-FM in Detroit, this recording proves that you can indeed teach an old dog new tricks. The classic songs have fresh arrangements, and are played with more vitality than one would expect from a band of guys in their 40s.

In addition to material from Ark, this show features all the important Animals classics including "Don't Bring Me Down," "It's My Life," "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood" and "House of The Rising Sun." Some special gems appear additionally, such as the Alan Price solo hit "Oh! Lucky Man" and a kick ass version of the John Lee Hooker anthem "Boom Boom."

Sadly, the band would disband again the following year, with Burdon relaunching a solo career and the others returning primarily to recording production and session work. Sadly, Chas Chandler would die a decade later at age 57 from brain cancer.

For a band twenty years past their initial prime, there are few that sound so solid as these guys - over 40 and still running wild.