Ten Years After

Sample this concert
  1. 1Help Me13:14
  2. 2Rock Your Mama03:13
  3. 3Spoonful06:07
  4. 4I May Be Wrong, But I Won't Be Wrong Always10:33
  5. 5No Title09:10
  6. 6Summertime / Shantung Cabbage06:04
  7. 7Spider In My Web09:20
  8. 8Crossroads04:05
  9. 9Woodchoppers Ball09:20
Liner Notes

Alvin Lee - guitar, vocals; Chick Churchill - organ; Leo Lyons - bass; Ric Lee - drums

This date would mark the band's first performance at the Fillmore Auditorium, recorded during Ten Years After's first American tour, shortly after the release of their second album, Undead. At this early stage, their jazz influences were far more prevalent than in later years; the band, moreover, has a marked tendency towards arrangements in the bebop tradition.

Opening this night with a lengthy take on Sonny Boy Williamson's "Help Me," they demonstrate their expertise at building tension, beginning slow and modestly before Alvin Lee's fast and furious soloing brings it to a frenetic close ten minutes later.

During this show, "Spoonful" and "Crossroads," both more associated with Cream than Ten Years After, get relatively concise treatments. In addition to the classic "Summertime," two other tracks clearly demonstrate the jazz influences so prominent during this time. "I May Be Wrong," a Ten Years After original, and especially the set closing cover of Bishop/Herman's, "Woodchoppers Ball," showcase Leo Lyon's jazzy bass style and Alvin Lee's lightning fast fret work. Alvin's remarkably fluid and technically proficient solos often leave one gasping for breath.

Their appearance at Woodstock the following year would bring international recognition and the trappings that go along with it, but this set is an excellent glimpse of the band when they were still hungry and playing for the sheer enjoyment of getting audiences up and dancing.