Paul Young

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction Theme00:39
  2. 2Tomb Of Memories04:02
  3. 3Love Will Tear Us Apart03:51
  4. 4Love Of The Common People05:55
  5. 5Bite The Hand That Feeds04:19
  6. 6Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)06:09
  7. 7No Parlez05:18
  8. 8I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down06:07
  9. 9Everything Must Change07:01
  10. 10Oh Women14:09
  11. 11Da Doo Ron Ron03:15
  12. 12Come Back And Stay06:41
  13. 13Sex16:54
  14. 14Broken Man06:57
  15. 15Everytime You Go Away09:37
Liner Notes

Paul Young - vocals; Steve Bolton - guitar; Jimmy Chambers - vocals; George Chandler - vocals; Tony Jackson - vocals; Marc Chantereau - percussion; Pino Palladino - bass; Ian Kewley - keyboards; Kim Lesley - vocals; Mark Pinder - drums; John Turnbull - guitar

Paul Young, not to be confused with the late Paul Young who sang for Mike & the Mechanics and Sad Cafe, is a popular British, blue-eyed soul singer, who tasted limited U.S. success but saw 14 of his records reach the UK Top 40.

This show, one of several taped in Australia for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, features a strong set from the smooth vocalist, whose soaring vocals take center stage. The players are exceptional as well, especially keyboardist Ian Kewley and the rhythm section, Matt Irving on bass and Mark Pinder on drums.

His early single, "Love Of The Common People," gets a good read from Young during this show, as does his cover of Marvin Gaye's "Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)." He triumphantly concludes with a ten minute version of his biggest hit, "Everytime You Go Away."

Born in Luton, Bedfordshire in 1956, he worked in a factory after graduating school and moonlighted in a cover band called Kat Kool & the Kool Kats (no, really). Initially a bass player, he quickly transitioned to frontman thanks to his powerful, soulful voice, and undeniable good looks. In 1978, he joined a group called the Streetband, who had a Top 40 hit in the U.K. with the novelty song, "Toast." After the group split, he formed the Q-Tips, which toured extensively but had no hits. In 1982, he signed to CBS Records as a solo artist, and though his first few singles didn't crack the Top 40, his third, a re-make of Marvin Gaye's "Wherever I Lay My Hat (That's My Home)" shot straight up to #1 on the charts.

Between the summer of 1983 and the early 1990s, Young had over a dozen hits, although his initial US tour in 1984 caused him considerable throat damage, which forced him to take the year off. He bounced back later that year by singing the opening line from Band Aid ensemble's charity single, "Do They Know It's Christmas?." Shortly thereafter, he enjoyed a worldwide smash with a cover of the Hall & Oates power ballad, "Everytime You Go Away." The song reached #1 in the US and most of the rest of the world. It would be Young's only #1 in the States, though his 1990 track "Oh, Girl" reached #8.

He continues to write, record, and tour, mostly in Europe and Japan.