New Grass Revival

Sample this concert
  1. 1When The Storm Is Over02:49
  2. 2Reach05:18
  3. 3Good Woman's Love04:58
  4. 4Band Introduction02:45
  5. 5One Love / People Get Ready04:08
  6. 6Band Introduction02:10
  7. 7Medley: One More Love Song / Pack Of Fools10:35
Liner Notes

Sam Bush - vocals, fiddle, guitar, mandolin; John Cowan - bass, vocals; Bela Fleck - banjo, vocals; Pat Flynn - guitar, mandolin

New Grass Revival emerged out of the popular Bluegrass Alliance with a goal of blending traditional bluegrass music with more contemporary styles and material. Although only Sam Bush remained from the original New Grass Revival lineup when this recording was made in 1984, it features the most commercially successful version of the group.

The group debuted in 1972 and released a string of popular albums in the 1970s and 1980s. They were giving a big industry push when Leon Russell used them as his backup band on several country flavored recordings and tours made between 1979 and 1981.

This performance comes from a time when the group broke out on its own to establish itself outside of its affiliation with Russell and had signed with a major label, EMI Records. The song "Reach," originally written and recorded by Orleans as a pop gospel track was successfully adapted by the New Grass Revival in the country-gospel vein. It received considerable airplay, and was the closest thing to a crossover hit that the band had.

They do an odd but very listenable medley of Bob Marley's "One World," and the traditional gospel anthem. "People Get Ready," made famous by Curtis Mayfield & The Impressions, Rod Stewart and others. The brief seven-song set closes with a 10-minute-plus medley of "One More Love" (written for them by Leon Russell) and "Pack of Fools" which features astonishing banjo and mandolin work from the group. The band dissolved in 1989, and from there Bela Fleck emerged with his own Bela Fleck & The Flecktones, one of the most well received alternative country acts in the world.