Sample this concert
  1. 1No Time to Lose02:02
  2. 2Meet Me on the Corner02:42
  3. 3All Fall Down03:07
  4. 4Plankton's Lament / Bring Down The Government03:30
  5. 5Go Back02:47
  6. 6Alright On The Night03:10
  7. 7Lady Eleanor04:21
  8. 8Oh No Not Again03:28
  9. 9Don't Ask Me03:39
  10. 10Fog On The Tyne03:19
  11. 11We Can Swing Together (Outtake)11:37
Liner Notes

Alan Hull - vocals, guitar, keyboards; Simon Cowe - vocals, lead guitar, mandolin, banjo; Ray Jackson - vocals, mandolin, harmonica; Rod Clements - bass, guitar, violin; Ray Laidlaw - drums

Shortly after the release of their third album, Dingly Dell, and still riding the crest of success of Fog On The Tyne, released the previous year, Lindisfarne took to the roads of America, opening shows for The Kinks. Often lumped into the loosely defined category of British folk-rock and often compared to the groundbreakers Fairport Convention and Pentangle, they were distinctly different. Lindisfarne relied far less on traditional folk and although those influences were certainly present, they geared toward a more melodic rock oriented sound. Driven by the lyrics and melodies of primary songwriters, Alan Hull, Simon Cowe and Rod Clements, Lindisfarne created a mixture of bright harmonies and high energy folk-rock into a sound uniquely their own. The band's spirited live performances, along with their sense of humor and fun, were the essential elements that contributed to Lindisfarne developing a dedicated following.

This performance, recorded at the University Of Virginia in 1972, arguably the best possible time to have caught the band live, captures some of the excitement of that memorable American tour. This was the era when the group's future never looked brighter. Fans of the group's first three albums will be delighted at the choice of material here, as all three of those recordings are represented, with a heavier focus toward the best material from Fog On The Tyne, along with plenty of material from Dingly Dell, when it was fresh and new to audiences.

The recording begins in progress with "No Time To Lose," a track unreleased at the time that would eventually turn up as a bonus track on the Fog On The Tyne reissue decades later. Next up is the overtly poetic "Meet Me On The Corner," the group's hit single and one of the finest songs written by bassist Rod Clements. The group continues with several tracks from the new album. "All Fall Down" and the country-style "Planktons Lament" paired with "Bring Down the Government," feature memorable melodies and catchy lyrics, while Simon Cowe's "Go Back" recalls the simplicity and surreal imagery of Syd Barrett's post-Pink Floyd solo work.

The middle of the set ventures back to earlier Alan Hull material, with "Alright The Night," a standout track from Fog On The Tyne, and "Lady Eleanor." The latter song was originally on the band's debut 1970 album, Nicely Out Of Tune, but when they became successful, it was reissued as a single, giving them another top 10 hit in England. Two more from Dingly Dell follow, with "Don't Ask Me," another Clements composition, sounding remarkably similar to Steely Dan's "Josie," years before that song was recorded.

The last 15 minutes of the set is utterly delightful. The title track to Fog On The Tyne is as infectious as ever and remains the band's signature song, but it's the extended jam on the set-closing "We Can Swing Together" that is most captivating. Written by Hull about an abortive police raid on a party, it's no wonder this became one of their favorite set closers, featuring an extended medley of traditional folk tunes and plenty of high energy musicianship. Unfortunately incomplete due to the tape stock requiring a change in the middle of the song, the nearly 12 minutes that remain are a testament to the band's live abilities and a rousing conclusion to an engaging performance.