Josh Charles

Sample this concert
  1. 1Love, Work and Money04:25
  2. 2The Answer05:09
  3. 3It Ain't Easy04:50
  4. 4Goodnight Irene03:13
  5. 5Just A Man11:03
  6. 6Pickin' Up The Pieces04:55
  7. 7Stars04:16
  8. 8The Waiting Game05:32
  9. 9I'm Always Here For You05:30
  10. 10Lucky Ones09:47
  11. 11634-5789 / It's Alright04:57
Liner Notes

Josh Charles - piano, vocals, guitar; Steve Jabas - guitar, backing vocals; Paul Frazier - bass (all tracks except 2 & 8); Cassandra Faulconer - bass (tracks 2 & 8); Bernard Davis - drums, backing vocals; John Roggie - organ, keys

Although raised in Kansas City and currently based out of New York City, Charles' music and career are much more closely aligned with New Orleans, a city he claims to feel a close kinship with. Not only is his piano playing often compared to that of Dr. John, but there is an underlying bluesy swamp-boogie to his soulful music.

With only one EP under his belt (although there is a full album coming out this fall), he's made a name for himself through his live performances, which include slow, soulful ballads side-by-side with upbeat funk tracks. It's performances like these that have gained the attention of other New Orleans legends like Buckwheat Zydeco and Cyrill Neville, with whom Charles will be touring in the summer of 2009.

Josh has also recently become involved with charity work. Proceeds from his single "Healing Time" are going to The Preservation Resource Center (PRC) of New Orleans to help rebuild, restore, and preserve the architectural history and historic neighborhoods that support the local culture and character of the Crescent City. You can learn more about this, as well as other information and content from Josh at his website.