Joan Baez

Sample this concert
  1. 1Honey Love01:51
  2. 2Di Da03:12
  3. 3Blessed Are03:13
  4. 4Forever Young03:54
  5. 5Daddy, You've Been On My Mind03:04
  6. 6Winds Of The Old Days06:42
  7. 7Gracias A La Vida05:04
  8. 8Natalia05:12
  9. 9The Ballad Of Sacco And Vanzetti04:15
  10. 10Kumbaya04:39
  11. 11Introduction01:44
  12. 12Oh, Happy Day05:58
  13. 13Interlude01:10
  14. 14The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down05:03
  15. 15Less Than A Song03:42
  16. 16Ain't You Got A Right To The Tree Of Life04:41
  17. 17Prisoner Trilogy (Billy Rose)05:11
  18. 18Love Song To A Stranger, Pt. 105:00
  19. 19Love Song To A Stranger, Pt. 204:44
  20. 20Interlude03:17
  21. 21Johnny, I Hardly Knew Yeh03:50
  22. 22Where's My Apple Pie (Incomplete, Part 1)02:39
  23. 23Where's My Apple Pie (Incomplete, Part 2)01:08
  24. 24Interlude01:27
  25. 25Joe Hill03:11
  26. 26Amazing Grace04:21
Liner Notes

Joan Baez - vocals, acoustic guitar; Guest: Mimi Farina - vocals, acoustic guitar

This recording is incomplete. A song in the first set is missing, probably due to a tape change; the track "Where's My Apple Pie," towards the end of the set, is also incomplete due to a tape change.

Comprised of two sets that cover a wide range of material, this concert captures Joan Baez at a uniquely transitional time in her career. Although she had dipped out of the popular music spotlight for several years, the sessions that resulted in her career rejuvenating album, Diamonds and Rust, were about to be completed. Baez was still a serious interpretive folk singer and political activist, but was beginning to embrace a more mainstream sound, and openly displaying a sense of humor on stage.

The material Baez chose to perform this night ranges from some of her earliest traditional material like "Kumbaya" and "Johnny I Hardly Knew Yeh" right up to songs featured on her most recent album, including "The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down," soon to become the biggest hit of her career.

The obligatory Dylan covers are featured, but rather than mining his "protest songs" of yesteryear, as had usually been the case, she chooses to interpret two of his more recent compositions, "Forever Young" and "Mama, You Been On My Mind," which she modifies accordingly.

During the second set, Joan's sister, Mimi Farina, makes an appearance on stage, contributing to a particularly enjoyable sequence that showcases Joan's sense of humor and illustrates how captivating their voices could sound together. The sisters perform "Less Than a Song" and the old Southern hymn, "Ain't You Got A Right To The Tree Of Life."

Back to back versions of "Love Song To A Stranger," parts 1 and 2, are featured, as is" Where's My Apple Pie," a rare 45 single charity release sold only at her shows during this time. The set ends with Baez's angelic read of the traditional hymn "Amazing Grace," which she does as an audience sing-a-long.

The following year, Baez would be topping the popular music charts with her aforementioned crossover release, Diamonds and Rust; and would be back on the road with Dylan once again, this time as part of the legendary Rolling Thunder Review. As this recording testifies, however, Baez's solo performances would ever remain moving experiences for the listener and, regardless of the setlist, timeless ones as well.