Janie Fricke

Sample this concert
  1. 1I Can Tell By The Way You Dance02:43
  2. 2If The Fall Don't Get You02:45
  3. 3It Ain't Easy Being Easy04:26
  4. 4I'll Need Someone To Hold Me (When I Cry)01:40
  5. 5Do Me With Love01:39
  6. 6Tell Me A Lie03:28
  7. 7Talkin' Tough03:44
  8. 8The First Word In Memory03:50
  9. 9Bring It On Home To Me04:21
  10. 10Acres Of Diamonds02:34
  11. 11Medley: Both Sides Now / Night They Drove Old Dixie Down03:36
  12. 12Fox On The Run03:05
  13. 13Your Heart's Not In It03:06
  14. 14Let's Stop Talkin' About It03:18
  15. 15He's A Heartache03:46
  16. 16The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)02:43
Liner Notes

Janie Fricke - lead vocals; Terry Baker - drums; Tony Wiggins - bass, vocals; Robert Dohegan - lead guitar; Bill Warren - rhythm guitar, vocals; K.D. Borshae - keyboards; Benny Wilson - harmonica, vocals

Janie Fricke went from singing advertising jingles for Holiday Inn country cover bands to being one of the biggest female country stars of the late 1970s and early 1980s. When one of her demos made it to famed Nashville producer Billy Sherrill, she was taken under his wing and eventually signed to Epic Records in Nashville.

Sherrill started by pairing her with the likes of Charlie Rich and Johnny Duncan, where she saw her first initial success performing duets with already established male artists. Yearning to build a career of her own, she was finally given a shot to cut a solo album. The first two singles failed to climb into the Country Music Top 40, so Sherrill decided to switch gears, and moved her in a direction that focused primarily on country ballads.

That must have done the trick; soon songs like "I'll Need Someone To Hold Me (When I Cry)," "Do Me With Love," "Your Heart's Not In It," "He's A Heartache (Looking For A Place to Happen)" and "It Ain't Easy Being Easy" all broke the Country Music Top 20 and easily established Fricke as a solid performer of country music. A loyal, devoted fan base soon followed.

By the time this recording was made for the Silver Eagle Cross Country radio series in December of 1984, Fricke had already enjoyed her biggest run of hits, but remained a Big Country draw. Because the show was so close to Christmas, she performs her rendition of the Mel Torme holiday classic, "The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire", which brings a real home-like feeling to the whole performance.

Other Highlights include "I Can Tell By The Way You Dance," "If The Fall Don't Get You," "Your Heart Is Not In It" and "He's A Heartache."