Huey Lewis & the News

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction00:20
  2. 2The Heart Of Rock N Roll04:53
  3. 3Tattoo(Giving It All Up For Love)03:55
  4. 4Shake Rattle N Roll03:53
  5. 5Lets Go Get Stoned05:50
  6. 6Whole Lotta Lovin / Boys Are Back In Town09:48
  7. 7Old Antone05:07
  8. 8Better Be True05:50
  9. 9Walking With The Kid04:30
  10. 10Hold What You've Got04:22
  11. 11Working In A Coal Mine03:52
  12. 12I Knew The Bride When She Used to Rock and Roll04:16
  13. 13This Is It04:12
  14. 14Power Of Love04:45
  15. 15A Couple Days Off03:46
  16. 16Workin For A Living05:07
  17. 17Happy Birthday to Bob Brown / Bob monologue02:10
  18. 18Good Morning Little Schoolgirl07:32
  19. 19Trouble In Paradise04:38
  20. 20Function At The Junction06:52
  21. 21I Want A New Drug08:26
Liner Notes

Huey Lewis - lead vocals, harmonica; Johnny Colla - guitar, saxophone, vocals; Sean Hooper - keyboards, vocals; Chris Hayes - guitar, vocals; Mario Cipollina - bass; Bill Gibson - drums, percussion, vocakls; Guests:; Dwight Clark - vocals (on track 14); Mark Russo - saxophone (on tracks 23, 25, 27 & 28); Bob Brown - monologue (on track 22)

Between 1982 and 1988, few bands worked harder than Huey Lewis Lewis and The News. Although the group was made up of seasoned vets, it wasn't until the breakout success of "Do You Believe In Love," a song from their second album, that they began receiving attention outside their home base of San Francisco. Over the coarse of the next six years, the group would perfect their blend of good time rock & roll music, infused with the soul and doo-wop influences of their youth. They would score big with three consecutive platinum albums and an impressive list of hit singles, including three number ones on the Billboard charts. Relentless touring and high rotation exposure on MTV would eventually pay off and the group would become a national headlining act capable of filling the biggest arenas in America.

In 1989 the group finally took some well-deserved time off from their touring and recording schedules with one notable exception. In May of 1989, Bill Graham presented a series of benefit concerts in multiple venues to raise awareness about AIDS and fund research and care for those afflicted in the Bay Area. Huey Lewis and The News took part in this "In Concert Against AIDS" series with a memorable one-off club performance at Slim's in San Francisco, which would not only be their first gig in over four months, but their first club gig in years.

Presented in its entirety, here is that performance. Surrounded by family, friends and a hometown audience, this intimate club gig has it all, including the group's biggest hits and a choice selection of covers. At one point, American Pro Bowl wide receiver for the San Francisco 49ers, Dwight Clark, joins the group onstage, lending his voice to the doo-wop classic "Working In A Cold Mine." Mark Russo, renowned for his saxophone work with Tower Of Power and The Yellowjackets, also joins in on the final half hour of this remarkable performance.