Honeymoon Suite

Sample this concert
  1. 1Funny Business / Lost And Found10:12
  2. 2Feel It Again05:41
  3. 3Stay In The Light04:54
  4. 4Bad Attitude05:30
  5. 5What Does It Take04:44
  6. 6Words In The Wind04:45
  7. 7Wave Babies04:19
  8. 8New Girl Now04:06
  9. 9Burning In Love04:56
Liner Notes

Johnny Dee - vocals; Derry Grehan - guitars; Gary LaDonde - bass; Ray Coburn - keyboards; Dave Betts - drums

Honeymoon Suite hailed from Niagara Falls and offered a Canadian take on the kind of rock 'n' roll that Bon Jovi and fellow Canucks Loverboy were already doing in the States. The group was signed by Warner Brothers Records, who was determined to break them big stateside with the help of MTV.

This show was recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour in 1986, while Honeymoon Suite was promoting their second album The Big Prize. The show was captured at London's famed Marquee Club (home base for many classic British bands like The Rolling Stones and Cream in the mid-'60s) and since this style of music was never truly embraced by UK audiences, it makes sense why Honeymoon Suite was playing an intimate venue like this one. Still, those that follow this genre of pop metal were thrilled they were there. The band opens with a powerhouse version of "Funny Business/Lost And Found," which warms the crowd up and lasts over ten minutes. Next, they rev up for "Feel It Again," which was the main radio hit from that album. It is followed by the rhythmic, "Stay In The Light," from the band's debut LP.

The rest of the set is mainly material from the band's second album, including the single, "Bad Attitude," and the power ballad, "What Does It Take?" which they dedicated to their label. The band rocks out again on "Words In The Wind," "Wave Babies," (which is about scoping girls in bikinis on the beach, the radio track "New Girl Now," and the set closer, "Burning In Love."