Hall & Oates

Sample this concert
  1. 1Did It In A Minute03:47
  2. 2How Does It Feel To Be Back04:34
  3. 3Diddy Doo Wop (I Hear The Voices)03:44
  4. 4Mano A Mano03:28
  5. 5Rich Girl03:14
  6. 6She's Gone05:18
  7. 7Kiss On My List04:29
  8. 8I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)06:46
  9. 9Medley: Goin' To A Go Go / I Like It Like That / Wipe Out / Funky Broadway20:21
  10. 10Sara Smile08:14
  11. 11Wait For Me05:40
  12. 12Private Eyes03:13
  13. 13You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'05:27
  14. 14You Make My Dreams Come True04:04
Liner Notes

Daryl Hall - lead vocals, keyboards, guitar; John Oates - lead vocals, guitar; T-Bone Wolk - bass, vocals; GE Smith - guitar; Micky Curry - drums; Charlie DeShant - saxophone, percussion; Larry Fast - keyboards

This show finds Hall & Oates near the peak of their popularity, years after 1975's "Sara Smile" broke their careers wide open onto the international music scene. Captured on the Private Eyes tour, which made them a household name in America and abroad, Hall & Oates were in fine form at this great show with a solid backing band.

After starting the show with newer, lesser known songs like "How Does It Feel To Be Back" and "Mano A Mano," the duo launches into a hit-filled segment that includes "Rich Girl," "She's Gone," "Kiss On My List" and "I Can't Go For That." The band consists of two Saturday Night Live Band veterans (bassist T-Bone Wolk and guitarist G.E. Smith), ex-T-Rex drummer Mickey Curry, Larry Fast from Peter Gabriel's band and long time sax player and keyboardist Charles DeShant.

They then move into a 20-minute jam that is used to introduce the band. It is a medley of several classic R&B and rock hits, including the Smokey Robinson and The Miracles hit "Going To A Go Go," "I Like It Like That" (made famous by The Dave Clark Five in 1964), "Somewhere Over The Rainbow" (done as a solo by G.E. Smith), "Wipe Out" (featuring drummer Mickey Curry) and, finally, a revved up version of Wilson Pickett's R&B classic "Funky Broadway."

They bring it on home with more hits: "Sara Smile," "Private Eyes," "You Make My Dreams Come True" and the duo's memorable re-make of The Righteous Brothers classic, "You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling." Upon completing the tour for which this show was recorded (for the King Biscuit Flower Hour), Hall & Oates would commence work on the biggest album of their long career, H20.