Hall & Oates

Sample this concert
  1. 1Did It In A Minute04:00
  2. 2How Does It Feel To Be Back04:54
  3. 3Diddy Doo Wop03:48
  4. 4Mano A Mano03:47
  5. 5Rich Girl03:18
  6. 6She's Gone05:56
  7. 7Kiss On My List04:44
  8. 8I Can't Go For That (No Can Do)07:30
  9. 9Going To A Go-Go03:25
  10. 10Jam / Over The Rainbow / Wipe Out08:01
  11. 11Funky Broadway07:50
  12. 12Sara Smile06:14
Liner Notes

T-Bone Wolk - bass; G.E. Smith - guitar; Mickey Curry - drums; Charlie Chants - sax; Daryl Hall - vocals, keyboards, guitar; John Oates - vocals, guitars

One of several shows recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour on the duo's 1982 world tour, Daryl Hall and John Oates presented an energetic and hit-filled set in front of a packed audience at the Roanoke Civic Center in Salem, Virginia. The group had been a platinum act for seven years and hit makers for over ten years, but with the help of MTV, and the fact that Hall & Oates were quick to embrace the new format of music videos, Hall & Oates were at the height of their popularity when this show was recorded.

The band opens with "Did It in a Minute," and although the song was not a huge hit for the duo, it provides an energetic entrance. Lesser-known tracks "How Does It Feel to Be Back" and "Diddy Doo Wop" are used to further warm up the crowd before kicking into a flurry of huge radio hits.

Starting with "Mano a Mano," Hall & Oates rock out with a number of great pop classics. "Rich Girl," "She's Gone," "Kiss Is on My List," and "I Can't Go for That" all get overwhelming response from the audience and clearly fuels the band into the final homestretch of the show. Always disciples of rhythm 'n' blues, the band dusts off the Smokey Robinson and The Miracles gem, "Going To a Go Go," and their rendition is arguably far superior to the cover done by The Rolling Stones. Next, they dive into "Funky Broadway," originally a hit for Wilson Pickett in 1967. They close with "Sara Smile," a song that still holds up as a brilliant pop song more than 30 years after it was originally recorded, and the extended jam featuring solos from the band members winds things down.

While Hall & Oates never broke up, the group was often sidelined by Hall, who continued to do his own albums, including the near-perfect 3 Hearts in the Happy Ending Machine, released in 1985. After four attempts to break as a solo artist, Hall seems to have returned his focus on the duo. Mention must also go to the exceptional band assembled for this tour. Longtime musical director T-Bone Wolk is on board, as is former Saturday Night Live bandleader GE Smith on guitar; and session drummer Mickey Curry, who has worked with acts as diverse as T-Rex and the Cult