Hall & Oates

Sample this concert
  1. 1Don't Blame It On Love04:22
  2. 2Serious Music04:52
  3. 3Rich Girl03:04
  4. 4Do What You Want, Be What You Are06:28
  5. 5I Don't Wanna Lose You04:29
  6. 6My Girl03:36
  7. 7Abandoned Luncheonette05:50
  8. 8Gino (The Manager)03:06
  9. 9The Emptyness04:13
  10. 10Band Intros02:06
  11. 11London Luck & Love03:45
  12. 12August Day04:42
  13. 13Back Together Again03:59
  14. 14Sara Smile03:04
  15. 15She's Gone05:14
  16. 16It's A Laugh03:52
  17. 17Melody For A Memory05:46
  18. 18Medley: Alley Katz / Room To Breathe07:28
  19. 19Interlude01:10
  20. 20Pleasure Beach04:59
Liner Notes

Daryl Hall - lead vocals, keyboards; John Oates - lead vocals, guitar; Caleb Quayle - lead guitar; David Kent - electric keyboards; Roger Pope - drums; Charles DeShant - saxophone, keyboards; Kenny Passarelli - bass

Hall & Oates were in fine musical form when they recorded this 18-song show consisting of some their biggest radio hits. Opening up with the 1 - 2 punch of rockers "Don't Blame It On Love" and "Serious Music" (one of the rare H&O songs to feature mostly John Oates as lead vocalist), the duo and exceptional backing band move through a dynamic set that includes some choice covers.

Early in the show, Hall informs the crowd that the concert was being recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, which prompts a strong audience reaction that revives after every song throughout the show. The band they used on this tour would stay with Hall & Oates for some time to come, and included ex-Elton John sidemen Caleb Quayle and Roger Pope as well as former Joe Walsh bassist Kenny Passarelli.

Hall & Oates obviously get the best reaction from the big radio hits "Rich Girl," "Abandoned Luncheonette," "Back Together Again," "Sara Smile" and "She's Gone." Since they were only about halfway through the chart topping streak they enjoyed through the mid 1980s, much of the material in this show came from their newest studio albums at the time: Along the Red Ledge, Bigger Than Both of Us and Beauty On a Back Street. The duo delivers a heartfelt cover of The Temptations classic, "My Girl," which would serve as a forerunner of the collaboration they would later do with Temps members Eddie Kendricks and David Ruffin, when they recorded another live album at Harlem's Apollo Theater seven years later.

They bring down the house with an energetic encore medley of "Alley Katz" and "Room To Breathe." This show is a great example of how strong Hall & Oates were as a live act in the late 1970s.