Grateful Dead

Sample this concert
  1. 1Percussion and Fire Dancers / Midnight Countdown05:07
  2. 2Not Fade Away07:43
  3. 3Eyes Of The World15:53
Liner Notes

Jerry Garcia - lead guitar, vocals; Bob Wier - rhythm guitar, vocals; Phil Lesh - bass, vocals; Vince Welnick - keyboards; Bill Kruetzman - drums; Mickey Hart - drums; Guests:; Bruce Hornsby - piano; Branford Marsalis - saxophone

The Grateful Dead ring in 1991 at The Oakland Coliseum before a typically enthusiastic home turf audience. This night's configuration featured two keyboard players, with ex-Tubes member Vince Welnick now on electric keyboards and Bruce Hornsby joining in on concert grand piano. This sequence begins five minutes prior to midnight as fire dancers and drummers are stirring up a tribal vibe during the set break. This leads right up to the midnight countdown and The Dead's second set that evening. They rock into the new year with the Buddy Holly classic, "Not Fade Away," which then segues into a bouyant "Eyes Of The World." On both of these numbers, New Orleans saxophone great, Branford Marsallis, is a featured guest. With both Hornsby and Marsallis on board, these numbers take on new life and a strong celebratory feel fitting of the occasion.