George Thorogood

Sample this concert
  1. 1Born To Be Bad03:44
  2. 2Move It On Over04:57
  3. 3I Drink Alone04:49
  4. 4One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer09:58
  5. 5Who Do You Love?05:40
  6. 6Bad To The Bone05:15
  7. 7No Particular Place To Go04:30
  8. 8You Talk Too Much05:40
  9. 9Reelin' And Rockin'08:34
  10. 10Madison Blues06:29
Liner Notes

Billy Blough - bass, vocals; Hank Carter - saxophone; Steve Chrismar - guitar; Jeff Simon - drums; George Thorogood - vocals, lead guitar

This George Thorogood show from 1988 offers up a solid collection of the blues-rock standard covers that he and his band the Destroyers became known for. By the time this show was recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour, Thorogood had already seen the biggest advances in his career. The discs he recorded and released after 1985's Bad to the Bone broke no new ground artistically and didn't seem to increase his audience.

Still, the Delaware native (who had relocated with his band to Boston in 1973), was able to release gold records and maintain his already fairly large audience for many years to come. Although he was never highly regarded by music critics or blues purists, who felt he bastardized the art form by making it far more accessible to classic rock audiences, Thorogood knew his music would have a large appeal. Having the right blend of hard rock, blues and boogie made him particularly appealing to FM programmers. Tracks like "Move It On Over," "I Drink Alone," and the raucous blues-boogie romp "Bad To The Bone" all established him with music fans, internationally.

All those hits are included in this show, along with several other signature tracks, including his cover of John Lee Hooker's "One Burbon, One Scotch, One Beer;" Bo Diddley's "Who Do You Love," and a pair of Chuck Berry classics, "No Particular Place To Go" and "Reelin' and Rockin'."