Sample this concert
  1. 1Deep in The Motherlode05:51
  2. 2In The Cage07:39
  3. 3The Lady Lies06:06
  4. 4Follow You, Follow Me03:49
  5. 5Cinema Show11:28
  6. 6Afterglow04:31
  7. 7Dance On A Volcano / Los Endos09:28
  8. 8Drums01:37
  9. 9I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe)09:22
Liner Notes

Phil Collins - vocals, drums; Tony Banks - keyboards; Mike Rutherford - bass, guitar, vocals; Daryl Stuermer - guitar; Chester Thompson - drums, percussion

By the time this King Biscuit Flower Hour recording was made in 1978, the classic five piece Genesis lineup of Peter Gabriel, Steve Hackett, Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford had dwindled to only Collins, Banks and Rutherford. Hence, the title of the album released for this tour: And Then There Were Three.

Ironically, even with its popular lead vocalist and acclaimed guitarist long gone, Genesis was about to enter its most commercially successful period - and just at the time of this recording. The new album had launched a Top 10 single, "Follow You, Follow Me," which, along with the help of a number of popular MTV videos, made them one of the biggest bands in the world.

This concert showed the band as it was still going through its post-Gabriel transition. Collins, who took over lead vocals when no suitable front man came (even after hundreds of auditions upon Gabriel's departure), does a remarkable job of bridging the old Genesis progressive rock sound with the band's more commercial pop direction, toward which it was clearly headed in 1978.

All three members, along with sidemen Daryl Stuermer and Chester Thompson, display amazing musicianship, especially on the older songs such as "In The Cage" (from the Lamb Lies Down on Broadway album) and "I Know What I Like" (taken from 1973's Selling England by the Pound). The real musical highlight however, is the nine-minute version of "Dance On A Volcano."

A more than solid set from a group fresh into a whole different chapter of their careers; a new Genesis was about to begin.