Gary Wright

Sample this concert
  1. 1Love Is Alive05:27
  2. 2Water Sign05:20
  3. 3Better By You, Better Than Me05:47
  4. 4The Light Of Smiles03:42
  5. 5Silent Fury04:56
  6. 6Time Machine / Who Am I?07:37
  7. 7Phantom Writer04:31
  8. 8Blind Feeling05:23
  9. 9Dream Weaver04:27
  10. 10Are You Weepin' / Band Introductions06:30
  11. 11Can't Find The Judge07:22
  12. 12I'm Alright06:01
Liner Notes

Gary Wright - vocals, synthesizers; Art Wood - drums; Richard Baker - keyboards; Lorna Wright - vocals; Betty Sweet - vocals; Peter Reilich - bass, keyboards; Hiroshi Upshur - keyboards

Gary Wright was still out touring for his 1976 follow-up to Dreamweaver, entitled Light Of Smiles, when this show was recorded for broadcast on the King Biscuit Flower Hour. Wright had seen enormous success with Dreamweaver, its self-titled #1 single, and follow-up single, "Love Is Alive." Light of Smiles paled by comparison, both critically and commercially, but still had some good material on it.

Wright had assembled a seven-piece band that featured almost all keyboards. He was a pioneer in the use of MIDI technology and made his Dreamweaver LP the first platinum album to be recorded exclusively with synthesizers emulating traditional rock 'n' roll instrumentation.

Wright left the U.S. to join a newly-signed British hard rock progressive group called Spooky Tooth in 1967. Spooky Tooth had considerable U.K. success as a progressive hard rock band, but saw little chart action in the U.S. They disbanded in 1970, and Wright formed his own group, Wonderwheel. At the same time, he was doing a wide range of U.K. recording sessions, including keyboard work in the studio for George Harrison. Harrison used Wright on his debut solo LP, All Things Must Pass, and the two became lifelong friends, collaborating together off and on until Harrison's death in November, 2001.

In 1973, Wright rejoined the other members of Spooky Tooth for another two-year run. During that time, the group had considerable success on American FM radio, especially with the LP, You Broke My Heart, So I Busted Your Jaw. After they disbanded again in 1974, Wright decided to place his focus on the emerging synthesizer and digital music technology that had been introduced. In 1975, he wrote and recorded Dreamweaver, his breakthrough LP, and the album that is still the basis of his current live show.