Garland Jeffreys

Sample this concert
  1. 1Garland Jeffreys Intoduction02:38
  2. 2Spanish Town08:27
  3. 3Shake Baby Shake05:15
  4. 4Cool Down Boy05:45
  5. 5No Woman No Cry06:31
  6. 6Reelin' Deeper In Love (With Phoebe Snow)05:54
  7. 7Wild In The Streets04:01
  8. 8Keep On Tryin'10:01
  9. 9She Didn't Lie07:27
  10. 1035 Millimeter Dreams03:57
Liner Notes

Garland Jeffreys - vocals, guitar; David Brown - guitar, vocals; Larry Hoppin - guitar, vocals; Lance Hoppin - bass, vocals; Timmy Cappella - keyboards, vocals; Jerry Moratta - drums, vocals; Guest: Phoebe Snow - vocals

Although Garland Jeffreys never saw the success he should have, he is best remembered for that brief period in the late 1970s when he signed to A&M records and released a couple of critically-acclaimed albums. Positioned as an urban alternative to Bruce Springsteen, Jeffreys sings about life as an outsider.

This performance was a "welcome home" for the touring musician, as exemplified by the animated introduction at the beginning of the set recorded for the King Biscuit Flower Hour in 1978. "Spanish Town," a lengthy opus about his existence in Spanish Harlem, is the highlight of this recording made in 1978. The hour-long performance contains many of the most popular songs from his '70s period of recording. "Wild In The Streets" and "Cool Down Boy," the two songs that most closely resemble what his contemporary, Bruce Springsteen, was doing at the time, were radio hits when this show was recorded at New York's Bottom Line.

Jeffreys also offers up a funky, urbanized remake of Bob Marley's "No Woman No Cry," but shines the most when he does his own lyrically compelling songs. On "35 Millimeter Dreams" he sings about a person who longs for the life they see through the camera lens. One of his best songs, "Reelin' Deeper In Love," is accompanied by Phoebe Snow on vocals.