Dwight Yoakam

Sample this concert
  1. 1Can't You Hear Me Callin'03:05
  2. 2Guitars And Cadillacs03:10
  3. 3Down The Road04:28
  4. 41,000 Miles04:15
  5. 5Rocky Road Blues04:43
  6. 6Readin', Rightin', Rt. 2304:36
  7. 7Walking After Midnight04:19
  8. 8I'll Be Gone04:07
  9. 9Honky Tonk Man04:02
  10. 10Grand Tour04:52
  11. 11Little Sister / Ring Of Fire08:12
Liner Notes

Dwight Yoakam - acoustic guitar; Pete Anderson - lead guitar; Ed Black - pedal steel, guitar; Jeff Donavan - drums; J.D. Foster - bass, background vocals; Brantley Kearns - fiddle, background vocals

Recorded on New Years Day 1987 between the release of his acclaimed debut Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc, Etc and his sophomore LP, Hillbilly Deluxe, a portion of this show was originally aired on the Silver Eagle Cross Country Radio Series. Yoakam had become a media darling with his debut album, winning over traditional country fans, new country fans, and roots-oriented rock critics and programmers. Following in the footsteps of his friend, Steve Earle, and inspired by the Bakersfield country sound of Buck Owens, Yoakam does memorable versions of "Down The Road," "Rocky Road Blues," "Walking After Midnight," and "I'll Be Gone." These were all non-LP tracks at the time of the recording, but "Rocky Road Blues," (first recorded by bluegrass legend Bill Monroe) does appear on 1995's Dwight Live.

Yoakam was born in Kentucky and raised in Ohio. After attending Ohio State University, he moved to Nashville where he planned to become a big country star. When that failed to really take off, he then moved to LA, where he became absorbed in the Bakersfield sound of Owens and Merle Haggard, among others. He cut his teeth playing everything from country to punk clubs in California. An indie EP led to a deal with Warner Brothers and the debut album, Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc, Etc.

Yoakam continued to be a media star in the music press, and had a series of country hits. In 1996, he struck cross-platinum status with a country-rock remake of Queen's "Crazy Little Thing Called Love." At the same time, he began a successful acting career that landed him several TV and film roles.

He continues to tour regularly, and in 2007 released an album dedicated to his late mentor, Buck Owens, entitled Dwight Sings Buck.