Duran Duran

Sample this concert
  1. 1Hungry Like The Wolf05:01
  2. 2Notorious04:12
  3. 3American Science04:50
  4. 4Vertigo (Do The Demolition)05:42
  5. 5New Religion05:47
Liner Notes

Simon Le Bon - vocals; Warren Cuccurullo - guitar; John Taylor - bass; Nick Rhodes - keyboards; Steve Ferrone - drums; Andy Hamilton - saxophone; Stan Harrison - saxophone; Mac Gollehon - trumpet; Sybil Scoby - backing vocals; Curtis King Jr. - backing vocals

Duran Duran was moving on without the original line-up (until it would reform in 2002) when it recorded this mini set for the King Biscuit Flower Hour. The band, which had become one of the biggest bands in the world between 1982 and 1985, had started to see trouble in its paradise: guitarist John Taylor and bassist Andy Taylor (not related) had seen platinum success in a side project with singer Robert Palmer and ex-Chic drummer Tony Thompson as a heavy metal/funk super-group called The Power Station; and Singer Simon Le Bon and keyboardist Nick Rhodes had formed their own band, Arcadia, which sound remarkably like Duran Duran; drummer Roger Taylor simply worked in both side projects.

After completing its 1986 Notorious, guitarist Andy Taylor and drummer Roger Taylor both departed. They were replaced by Chic's Tony Thompson on drums and former Missing Persons guitarist Warren Cuccurullo. Despite the fact that the original line-up was no longer intact, Duran Duran sound remarkably fresh with this new, revised group.

Formed in 1978, Duran had a number of charted songs in the early 1980s, including "Rio," "Hungry Like The Wolf," "Make Me Smile," and the memorable "Girls On Film" (which exploded after MTV put its provocative music video into heavy rotation).

Duran Duran became superstars (and remain a solid recording and touring act) because they were never afraid to take chances, and unlike so many of the other now forgotten pop bands to come out of the new wave area, they had a solid front man (Le Bon) and strong material.

Duran Duran remained chart topping, pop superstars through most of the 1980s, although not always with the same line-up. Their efforts in the 90s were hit and miss. It was not until 2002 that the original line-up reformed. They stayed together through the end of 2006, when Andy Taylor left, once again. As a quartet, they released the LP Red Carpet Massacre in fall 2007. The album, produced in part by Justin Timberlake, received favorable reviews and debuted at #36 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 200.