Duran Duran

Sample this concert
  1. 1Is There Something I Should Know?04:45
  2. 2Hungry Like The Wolf04:18
  3. 3The Reflex06:10
  4. 4New Moon On Monday04:49
  5. 5The Union Of The Snake04:27
  6. 6New Religion05:43
  7. 7Cracks In The Pavement04:57
  8. 8Of Crime And Passion03:26
  9. 9Friends Of Mine06:16
  10. 10The Seventh Stranger05:51
  11. 11The Chauffeur05:49
  12. 12Save A Prayer06:43
  13. 13Planet Earth05:04
  14. 14My Own Way04:06
  15. 15Careless Memories06:19
  16. 16Rio09:27
  17. 17Girls On Film15:10
Liner Notes

Simon LeBon - vocals; Andy Taylor - guitar; John Taylor - bass; Nick Rhodes - keyboards; Roger Taylor - drums; Andy Hamilton - saxophone, keyboards; Rafael DeJesus - percussion; Darlene Dotes - backing vocals; BJ Nelson - backing vocals

For Duran Duran, this was the first show in a multiple run of sold out shows at Madison Square Garden in March of 1984. They were world-class pop superstars by the time they did this run of NYC shows, which remains the highlight of their concert popularity in America. For these shows, and the tour they were part of, Duran Duran was promoting their 1983 release, Seven and the Ragged Tiger, which was produced by Chic guitarist Nile Rodgers.

Rodgers was careful not to fix something that wasn't broken. Two singles emerged from this record, "The Reflex" and "Union of The Snake," but he didn't do too much to change what they had become. Those two songs and five of the album's nine tracks are performed during this show. The rest of this set features mostly the band's early hits, such as "Hungry Like The Wolf" and "Girls On Film."

Over two decades since Duran Duran reached their popularity peak, the music still endures. While becoming staples on stations that play primarily music from the 1980s, they continued to have hit albums through the late 1990s.

The original line-up reunited in 2003, and recorded a new album, DVD and did extensive touring through 2005. In early 2006, Andy Taylor left the group again to resume his solo career. The other four original members have decided to continue without him.