Dr. John

Sample this concert
  1. 1Introduction00:42
  2. 2Swanee River Boogie03:07
  3. 3Instrumental00:41
  4. 4Dance The Night Away With You03:53
  5. 5Wild Honey04:32
  6. 6City Lights03:03
  7. 7Street Side05:58
  8. 8Mama Roux04:06
  9. 9He's A Hero03:30
  10. 10Right Place, Wrong Time04:11
  11. 11Rain04:04
  12. 12Interlude00:25
  13. 13Let's Make A Better World03:30
  14. 14Fire of Love03:56
  15. 15Such A Night06:08
  16. 16Iko Iko09:12
Liner Notes

Dr. John - lead vocals, piano; David Sanborn - alto sax; Kim Hutchinson - alto sax, woodwinds; Buzzy Feiten - lead guitar; Jim Calhoun- bass; Neil Larsen - organ; Hugh McCracken - guitars; Steve Gadd - drums; Joyce Kaye - vocals; Tami Lynn - vocals

From the very beginning of the show, when the emcee announces, "Ladies and Gentlemen, the Doctor will see you now…" it's clear that this audience is in for an amazing show. Opening with an instrumental boogie-woogie romp on his grand piano, Dr. John (nee Mac Rabennack) proves straight away why he is originator and all time king of swamp-rock music. The boogie run morphs into a Cajun version of "Swanee River Boogie," before the band joins the Doctor onstage for an all around stunning show.

This recording, along with a series of other shows around the time, was cut at New York's famed Bottom Line club. The Doctor, as he is often called, was promoting his City Lights album on the now-defunct Horizons/A&M jazz-pop label. City Lights, which features an eerie painting of the New York City skyline that shows the World Trade Center melting down as dripping, burning candles, is now out of print but has long been regarded as one of his best studio album's ever.

For the album and this tour, Dr. John assembled an all star musical cast that included David Sanborn, Steve Gadd, Hugh McCracken, and other top studio players. The material on the record (much of which is featured in this show) is among the best original stuff he has ever written, and was played in conjunction with veteran R&B songsmith, the late Doc Pomus. "Rain," an absolutely stunning smoky-jazz ballad, is featured on that record, and is a highlight of this memorable performance.

In addition to promoting City Lights, Dr. John also took a ride on the way back machine a few times, delivering a punchy, funky version of his 1972 pop hit "Right Place, Wrong Time," and later, at the end of the show, a nine-minute version of the New Orleans staple "Iko Iko." A phenomenal show all around.