Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

Sample this concert
  1. 1Pre-Road Downs03:16
  2. 2Long Time Gone07:03
  3. 3Helplessly Hoping03:56
  4. 4Ohio05:17
  5. 5As I Come Of Age04:48
  6. 6Southern Man11:20
  7. 7Carry On17:14
  8. 8Woodstock08:45
  9. 9Find The Cost Of Freedom02:34
Liner Notes

David Crosby - guitar, vocals; Stephen Stills - guitar, upright bass, piano, organ, vocals; Graham Nash - guitar, piano, organ, vocals; Neil Young - guitar, organ, vocals; Calvin Samuels - bass; Johnny Barbata - drums

This is the fourth night of CSNY's legendary six-night run at the Fillmore East. The Four Way Street live album contains recordings from this run. This entire run of shows capture CSNY hot on the heels of success from the recently released Deja Vu LP and was during the group's most prolific phase, as all four were working on solo albums that would soon define them as individual artists.

The second half of this show contains the entire electric set. Joined on stage by bassist Calvin Samuels and drummer Johnny Barbata, this captures the group at the pinnacle of its powers. The politically volatile times are well reflected in "Long Time Gone," "Southern Man" and especially "Ohio," which had just been written following the recent shootings at Kent State.

"Southern Man" and "Carry On" give the group the opportunity to stretch out and jam. Stills and Young demonstrate what a great blend their dual guitar attack really is, and Neil in particular is in his element. Crosby's rhythm guitar playing is also unique and drives the two lead guitarists to some surprising places.

Joni Mitchell's "Woodstock" closes the set, followed by an acoustic "Find the Cost of Freedom" to end the night on a thought-provoking, contemplative note.