Bon Jovi

Sample this concert
  1. 1Tokyo Road07:04
  2. 2Breakout07:03
  3. 3Only Lonely06:09
  4. 4She Don't Know Me08:27
  5. 5Shot Through The Heart06:41
  6. 6Silent Night07:47
  7. 7Runaway05:41
  8. 8Burning For Love06:43
  9. 9Get Ready07:56
Liner Notes

Jon Bon Jovi - vocals; Richie Sambora - guitar, vocals; David Bryan - keyboards, vocals; Alec John Such - bass, vocals; Tico Torres - drums, vocals

This Tokyo show was recorded just a year before the band's enormous breakthrough album, Slippery When Wet, was cut. The New Jersey quintet proves an entirely capable '80s metal hair band on the threshold of widespread commercial success as they perform in front of an audience of seemingly out of control Japanese fans. The magnetic songwriting team of Bon Jovi and Richie Sambora had not yet completely developed, and the material here is, for the most part, void of any radio hits (with the exception of "Runaway").

This recording shows the band in a transition period, as they are still growing into the influential power-pop combo that eventually helped define rock and roll in the '80s. There are some highlights, including the transition into "Shot Through The Heart," which morphs out of a version of the 1966 Sonny and Cher hit, "Bang Bang, My Baby Shot Me Down."

Sambora is clearly discernable on these recordings, but he was still years away from becoming the necessary musical counterpart to the charismatic Bon Jovi on lead vocals. This show is certainly worth a listen for anyone interested in experiencing the early exploits and achievements of the band.