Blood, Sweat and Tears

Sample this concert
  1. 1Instrumental06:41
  2. 2Hi De Ho (That Sweet Roll)09:31
  3. 3Gimme That Wine07:16
  4. 4Spinning Wheel05:48
  5. 5Don't Explain08:37
  6. 6Matsu Yoma Mama05:16
  7. 7Lucretia MacEvil / Lucretia's Reprise13:34
  8. 8Blue Street05:13
  9. 9And When I Die / I'm Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town18:25
  10. 10Drum Solo / Bass Solo / Jam / Band Introductions19:41
  11. 11Mean Old World03:35
  12. 12You've Made Me So Very Happy05:22
Liner Notes

David Clayton Thomas - vocals; Randy Burnson - lead guitar; Bob Economou - drums; Larry Willis - keyboards; Neil Stuebenhouse - bass; Chris Albert - trumpet, flugelhorn; Greg Herbert -sax, reeds; Tony Klatkat - trumpet; David Bargeron - trombone, tuba

This is one of multiple shows to be recorded in November of 1977 at New York's Bottom Line club for the King Biscuit Flower Hour. Blood, Sweat, & Tears, or BS&T as they are usually called, was the very first act to appear on King Biscuit, and would be return guests several times between 1973 and the end of new broadcasts in 1991. This show was special because it been recorded eighteen months after lead vocalist David Clayton-Thomas had rejoined the popular horn-driven jazz-rock-pop band. Neither Clayton-Thomas nor the two versions of the band without him between 1972 and 1975 had much commercial success, so the time was ripe for a reunion.

For the '77 tour, the band had replaced its last original members, Dick Halligan and Bobby Colomby. Colomby, however, had left to accept an A&R job at the short-lived ABC Records, and signed BS&T as his first act to produce. Despite the return of Clayton-Thomas, Colomby's hands-on approach, and the considerable anticipation that came with the record's release, Brand New Day, failed to have any radio hits.

Classic BS&T hits such as "Hi De Ho (That Old Sweet Roll)," "Spinning Wheel," "Lucretia MacEvil," and "You've Made Me So Very Happy" are part of the show, as are lesser known songs from this time frame that included: "Gimme That Wine," "Don't Explain," and "Mean Old World."

By the end of the decade, any of the musicians that had been part of the Bobby Colomby-era were gone. Clayton-Thomas attempted to re-build Blood, Sweat, & Tears with all Canadian musicians, but eventually he once again went solo. In 2004, Bobby Colomby reformed the group with new musicians and continues to tour.