Blood Feathers

Sample this concert
  1. 1Welcome to Daytrotter00:16
  2. 2Hard Being You03:30
  3. 3King Cotton04:40
  4. 4God Almighty03:29
  5. 5Sweet Tea03:35
  6. 6Fireproof02:59
Blood Feathers Sep 6, 2012
Liner Notes

From the first second that a Blood Feathers song comes on, you can imagine the six men from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, piling out of a rundown, exhaust-spewing old bus and in through the back door of a roadhouse, just off the highway somewhere, passing the dumpster filled with all of the onion ring grease and the broken remnants of the fun that was had the night before. They'd be wiping the sleep from their eyes, having driven all night from the last roadhouse, where they assisted in causing some of that same fun that lay in the garbage with the bottles and the one or two warm swigs of beer that were discarded for the next cold one. They'll be expected to play a pair of hour and a half sets to get their cash after the gig, before rolling on down the road - the comped beers making the show looser and looser as the night goes on into the morning.

Vocalist/guitarist/piano player Ben Dickey, vocalist/guitarist Drew Mills, bassist Clay Simmons, drummer Patrick Marsceill, guitarist Sam Murphy (guitar) and saxophone/keyboard player/percussionist Tracy Stanton write songs that many of those folks sidling up to the bar in those kinds of places can identify with. They are the stories of those struggles that men and women have to work through on a daily basis - not being able to get along with one another, getting along too well with another that they shouldn't be getting along with. They are the stories of all the great, classic misunderstandings that go on and play themselves out for an eternity. They are the blowups and the walking outs. They are the reconciliations and the blackmailings. They are those passionate problems that lead to more passionate problems. They can lead to broken bottles or to more rounds.