Average White Band

Sample this concert
  1. 1Person To Person07:19
  2. 2Goin' Home05:21
  3. 3T.L.C.14:43
  4. 4Queen of My Soul06:45
  5. 5Love Of Your Own05:13
  6. 6Love Your Life05:21
  7. 7Work To Do06:35
Liner Notes

Alan Gorrie - vocals, bass, guitar; Hamish Stuart - vocals, guitar, bass; Onnie McIntyre - guitar; Roger Ball - alto sax, keyboards; Malcolm Duncan - tenor sax; Steve Ferrone - drums; Marvin Stamm - trumpet

One might say that The Average White Band was the British equivalent to the U.S. horn-driven funk band Tower of Power, and in a lot of ways they are. This recording, made two years after AWB had achieved an initial pop success with the infectious dance instrumental "Pick Up The Pieces," shows the band at its creative peak. Most of the material comes from the band's second and third Atlantic Records studio albums, but they do include some throwbacks to the very beginning, specifically with "T.L.C.," a tune from their debut album, 1973's Show Your Hand.

The set featured in this concert is brief but compelling. The band focuses mostly on vocal pop songs and doesn't spend too much time showcasing their instrumental prowess. Songs like "Queen of My Soul" and "Person To Person" display the band's ability to write extremely melodic, rhythmically tight songs that employ powerful horn arrangements and convincing vocals. The set ends with a blistering version of the chart topping hit single "Work To Do."

AWB remains a working band today, although only McIntyre and Gorrie remain from the original lineup. Guitarist/bassist/vocalist Hamish Stuart eventually joined Paul McCartney's band from 1989 through 1993, and released several solo albums. Drummer Steve Ferrone also went on to play with McCartney, and has remained one of the most in-demand live touring drummers on the scene.