Santana & Rahsaan Roland Kirk (Fillmore East, 4/3/71)

  • Track Count 14
  • Total Length 1:38:21
Sample this playlist
  1. 1 I Say A Little Prayer Rahsaan Roland Kirk 18:15
  2. 2 Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me) Rahsaan Roland Kirk 06:11
  3. 3 Band Introduction Rahsaan Roland Kirk 00:40
  4. 4 Blues In B Flat Rahsaan Roland Kirk 04:38
  5. 5 Volunteered Slavery (Incomplete) Rahsaan Roland Kirk 07:08
  6. 6 Introduction / Soul Sacrifice Santana 12:47
  7. 7 Jungle Strut Santana 06:11
  8. 8 Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen Santana 06:14
  9. 10 Waiting Santana 05:07
  10. 11 Samba Pa Ti Santana 04:10
  11. 12 Toussaint L'Overture Santana 05:49
  12. 13 Evil Ways Santana 05:11
  13. 14 Everybody's Everything Santana 06:01
  14. 15 Gumbo Santana 05:17
Playlist Description

Travel back to the Fillmore East on April 3rd, 1971 and hear Santana and Rahsaan Roland Kirk and His Vibration Society perform on a bill exemplifying the musical diversity that Bill Graham often embraced at the Fillmores. The opening Rahsaan Roland Kirk set is an excellent introduction to the musician, showcasing his circular breathing technique, his ability to play different instruments simultaneously, and the music he created that provocatively combined beauty and rage. The Santana recording presented here captures the classic "Abraxas"-era line-up augmented by Neal Schon on second guitar, injecting the band with even more energy. It was a remarkable time in the group's history, when the original lineup was at its creative apex and the band was at its commercial peak. Hear how it all went down on this playlist featuring two recordings from that evening: take a ride through avant-garde territory with Rahsaan Roland Kirk, then enjoy the cathartic peaks of the percussively propulsive Santana set. To read more about the individual sets, click on the links in the Related Concerts box below. Here are personnel listings for each group: Rahsaan Roland Kirk - woodwinds, flute, vocals Sonelius Smith - piano, vocals Dick Griffin - trombone, vocals Charles McGhee - trumpet, vocals Henry Pearson - bass, vocals Jerry Griffin - drums, vocals Joe Habad Texidor - percussion, vocals Carlos Santana - guitar, vocals Neal Schon - guitar, vocals Gregg Rolie - keyboards, piano, lead vocals David Brown - bass, vocals Michael Shrieve - drums José Chepitó Areas - percussion, conga, timbales Mike Carabello - percussion, conga, tambourine, vocals Coke Escovedo - percussion