Grateful Dead

Sample this concert
  1. 1China Cat Sunflower / I Know You Rider13:40
  2. 2Saint Of Circumstance06:27
  3. 3Crazy Fingers08:30
  4. 4Playin' In the Band18:15
  5. 5Drums / Playin' In The Band (Reprise)18:06
  6. 6Stella Blue08:05
  7. 7Throwin' Stones / Not Fade Away18:24
  8. 8One More Saturday Night02:39
Liner Notes

Jerry Garcia - vocals, guitars; Bob Weir - vocals, guitars; Phil Lesh - vocals, bass; Bill Kreutzmann - drums; Mickey Hart - drums; Vince Welnick - keyboards; Bruce Hornsby - keyboards

This recording captures the Dead at the time when they featured two keyboard players - ex-Tubes member Vince Welnick, and also Bruce Hornsby, who played keyboards and sometimes accordion with the Dead quite a bit throughout the '90s.

It's a configuration of the band that produced really interesting, and many times truly exhilirating versions of well-known Dead songs. Listen to the opening of "Playin' In The Band" here; the intricate interplay between Welnick, Garcia and Hornsby brings a very different feel to this classic, and it propels the band into a great and fresh exploration of the tune.

By the time this version of the band had assembled, they had already recorded their biggest commercial songs, especially 1987's "Touch of Grey," which brought the Dead to mainstream radio charts. This complete second set from Zenith in Paris is an hour and a half run that includes some of their best loved material, such as the "China Cat Sunflower" (which segues into "I Know You Rider"), "Playin' In the Band," "Stella Blue," "Not Fade Away," and a set-ending "One More Saturday Night." This recording is proof positive of why the Dead will always be the Godfathers of Jam Band music.